Starting May 15th, its functionality will become more limited, and users will no longer be able to send or read messages from the app.
They’ll still be able to receive calls and notifications, but this will only be possible for a “short time.”
Speaking to TechCrunch, the company confirmed this period will last a few weeks.
However, messages between individuals on WhatsApp are end-to-end encrypted, so only their recipients can see their contents.
WhatsApp has shared some personal information, like phone numbers, with Facebook since 2016.
However, it cautions that it generally deletes accounts after they’re inactive for 120 days.